Home   |   Join the NSPA   |   Sign In
Scholarship Provider of the Year Awards (SPOY)

2017 Scholarship Provider of the Year winners

bellevue university

BOULDER, CO (November 1, 2017) – The National Scholarship Providers Association (NSPA) announced the 2017 winners of the Scholarship Provider of the Year (SPOY) Award. The award recognizes outstanding scholarship practices in two categories, Independent Scholarship Providers and Colleges & Universities. This year’s recipients, TheDream.US and Bellevue University, were recognized at the NSPA Annual Conference in Seattle, WA.

“The Scholarship Provider of the Year Award is a prestigious honor in the industry. Each year it acknowledges two members who demonstrate exceptional leadership, efficiency, and impact in their support of higher education,” remarked K.J. McCorry, the Interim Executive Director of NSPA. “What truly makes this a special award is that winners are selected by a committee of peers.”

Both scholarship providers selected for the annual honor receive a $2,500 cash prize sponsored by Fastweb, the nation's recognized leader in helping students pay for school and a top site in the Monster Worldwide network. Organizations must be current members of the NSPA to be considered for the award.

For over 21 years Fastweb has been the nation's recognized leader in helping students pay for college. The Fastweb community is made up of Students, Parents, Scholarship Providers and Educators that are seeking and supporting ways to fund higher education. Fastweb is thrilled to once again sponsor the Scholarship Provider of the Year awards to recognize the dedication of all the providers involved to support students in achieving their educational goals.

TheDream.US is the nation’s largest college access and success program for DREAMers - undocumented immigrants who came to this country as children. Its work is anchored in the belief that all children living in this country—regardless of where they are born —should have the opportunity to receive a college education and graduate prepared to help our nation succeed. TheDream.US has supported over 3,000 DREAMers who are enrolled in or have graduated from over 75 Partner Colleges committed to their college success. These students’ persistence rates and academic achievements are remarkable. And their contributions to their colleges and the companies at which they work are helping ensure the nation’s social and economic progress.

The Scholarships & Grants Department at Bellevue University provides financial assistance, guidance, and documented resources through a number of channels to help empower prospective and current students to close financial gaps in order to enroll and persist in their program of study through graduation. As members of the university community, the Scholarships & Grants Department collaborates with a number of departments campus-wide and with the local community to provide outreach and scholarship and grant resources to our student population. We work to help students keep loan debt manageable, so that upon degree conferral our graduates have the means and ability to support their families, give back to their local communities, and stimulate the local economy.

About the National Scholarship Providers Association

The National Scholarship Providers Association (NSPA) is a non-profit membership association that brings together private foundations, public charities, colleges and universities, corporate giving programs, and government agencies from across North America that provide scholarships for higher education.  Its mission is to advance the collective impact of scholarship providers and the scholarships they award.  The NSPA supports over 450 member organizations through professional development opportunities, industry best practices and research, issue education and policy advocacy. In the 2013-2014 academic year, NSPA members awarded over $1.1 billion in scholarships to more than 180,000 students.  For additional information about the NSPA visit www.scholarshipproviders.org and follow on Twitter @NSPA_Tweets.

About Fastweb:

Fastweb, a top site in the Monster Worldwide network, is the nation's recognized leader in helping students pay for school, by providing scholarship and financial aid information, as well as information on jobs and internships. As the oldest and most popular free online scholarship matching service, one out of three college-bound seniors use the site and more than 50 million users have benefitted from Fastweb's information and services. Fastweb lets students create personalized profiles that can be matched against its expansive databases of colleges and scholarships. To learn more about Fastweb, visit www.fastweb.com and follow Fastweb on social media for the latest on paying for school all year long: Twitter (at @PayingForSchool); Facebook; Pinterest; Google+.

K.J. McCorry, Interim Executive Director, NSPA and Jane Thompson, NSPA Board Member, presents the SPOY Award to  representatives from TheDream.US in the Independent Scholarship Providers category.
K.J. McCorry, Interim Executive Director, NSPA and Jane Thompson, NSPA Board Member, presents the SPOY Award to  a representative from Bellevue University in the Colleges & Universities category.


Past winners

Scholarship Provider Winner
Institutional Winner
2017   theDream.US   Bellevue University
  Meritus College Fund   California State University Northridge
2015   George Snow Scholarship Fund   Northern Illinois University
2014   Jeannette Rankin Women's Scholarship Fund   Red Rocks Community College Foundation
2013   WGA's Evans Scholars Foundation   CU Boulder Guardian Scholars
2012   Center for Student Opportunity/I'm First &
Magic Johnson Foundation - Taylor Michaels Scholarship Program
2011   10,000 Degrees
University of Michigan - Scholarship Program Office of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
2010   Terry Foundation   University of Southern Mississippi - Luckyday Foundation Citizen Scholars Program
2009   Simon Scholars Program   Auburn University - Provost Leadership Undergraduate Scholarship (PLUS) Retention Program
2008   Dell Scholars Program (Michael and Susan Dell Foundation)   Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
2007   Point Foundation &
The Ford Family Foundation
2006   Orphan Foundation of America (now Foster Care to Success (FC2S))   Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
2005   American Indian Graduate Center   Robert Morris College
2004   Jack Kent Cooke Foundation   University of Texas, Austin
2003   TELACU Education Foundation  
2002   American Indian College Fund   Kent State University
2001   Oregon Student Assistance Commission &
Citizen's Scholarship Foundation of America (now Scholarship America)
2000   American Cancer Society, Florida Division, Inc. &
The Fremont Area Foundation





















Thank you to the following organizations for their generous support!

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal